Pics from the open mic at Ye Olde Murenger, Newport 20/05/15

Ye Olde Murenger House, Newport on Wednesday, May 20th, 2015 saw the latest of the regular spoken word poetry nights held as fundraisers  by CWTSH to help run the former Stow Hill Library in Newport.

Hosted by the warm and welcoming ALAN RODERICK

Who delivered his own poetry with self deprecating charm during a night featuring

LEON CHARLES

CHRISTINA THATCHER

also featuring OTHER POETS

Some  shots of Leon and Christina follow, then pics of OTHER POETS

OTHER POETS!

Apologies to the OTHER POETS, who I have referred to as such (including myself) because there are a a couple of names I am not sure of, and I thought it would be fairer to call us all OTHER POETS than to leave anybody feeling left out by not being namechecked. It isn’t a nice feeling when someone doesn’t remember your name, and I certainly don’t expect everyone to remember mine every time I read (I’d have been disappointed quite often if I’d expected otherwise, actually). No harm or offence is meant here and I hope you all take it in good spirits 🙂

Suffice to say, the night at Ye Olde Murenger brought a wide ranging mix of words, from the irreverent, to the sung, to the angry, to the sad, to the heartfelt, and the heartbreaking, and I have no doubt the same will be true next time, when the event will be featuring

Susan Richardson

and OTHER POETS 😉

Will make sure I get all the names next time.

And that’s all, folks!

Leave a Reply

